PDA

View Full Version : Who would like to do some Java programming?



InsaneJ
28th October 2013, 14:05
I'm looking for simple plugin to do stats tracking and give announcement for our HappyDiggers AMP and RPG mod packs. I have two reasons for this:
1. I want to let people know that if there's a problem with any given version of our mod packs.
2. I want to see how many people are actually using our packs.

What I want is the following:

Supply version number hard coded in mod.
Check against hard coded URL and compare with it's own version number.
Display update message if newer version is found.
Check announcement URL based on hard coded URL and display if anything is found.


The hardcoded URLs will be something like:
http://happydiggers.net/packupdates/AMP.php?v=2.0.1 (for AMP v2.0.1)
http://happydiggers.net/packupdates/AMP.php?v=2.1.0 (for AMP v2.1.0)
etc.

Messages, if any, should be displayed right after a world loads. All messages and coding should be done in UTF8 to prevent issues with character encoding.

I'll take care of the PHP back-end. The PHP scripts will send a header 'Content-type: application/txt' and then sends a plain text file "version.txt" or "announcement.txt" over HTTP. The rest of the PHP script will do database stuff that is not relevant for the mod.

AtomycStryker's BattleTowers mod includes the source of his update checker, perhaps that could be modified and save a ton of work?
http://www.atomicstryker.net/battletowers.html
See attached file.

I would like to include the mod in the 1.5 and 1.6 versions of our packs. And since the version numbers will be hard coded, this means that whomever updates a pack should probably be the one to change the version number in the mod's code and recompile it after the mod is done.

CC, DOM, any takers?

Dylan4ever
28th October 2013, 17:50
The Erebus has update checking I think. I'll ask chylex, see if he wants to do it, he might. But don't take my word on that, because he's also busy with the Erebus and HEE ofcourse :3.

Sverf
29th October 2013, 19:40
Why hardcode version nummer in the mod? Makes it a pain tot maintain the pack, lot easier tot read it from a cfg file?

InsaneJ
29th October 2013, 19:48
Reason is that I don't want people messing with the config file. Almost all update checkers do it hard coded. A few steps extra aren't that much of a pain. Instead of editing a version number in a config file, you edit the version number in the mod's source and hit the compile button.

When I'm updating a mod pack on the FTB launcher I'm already editing a couple of files just for version numbers alone.

Also this update checker mod could perhaps later be used to do other things for our mod pack like change the main menu theme, download extra content (turtle programs, drinks, maps, etc). But that's something for later. Unless we can find someone willing to help us out with that sort of stuff soon-ish :)

talon6758
3rd November 2013, 19:42
Hmmmm coders huh? Ive coded games before but no Java. Im actually going to a camp this summer about it though. I might be able to help

fredoduquartier
27th March 2014, 19:10
Hi foes!:)
Its the perfect job for me!:cool:
let's make it rock!Ill soon post news, i also have a project foe a custum menu! ill try to make it work.

Fred

here is the first verion, tell me what is good, and what not, these are only the buttons:
original minecraft buttons:
595
the new ones:
596

tell me what you want to change or not.

Fred

InsaneJ
27th March 2014, 21:48
Thanks for putting in the time to do this, it's much appreciated :)

The new buttons look playful, I like that. I'm curious to see what else you come up with for the interface design.

fredoduquartier
1st April 2014, 18:05
Got it!, it doesnt do everything, but check it out, now Insane can write text and it will appear when you start a world with the mod installed, and no, its not an april joke!

The proof: http://www.mediafire.com/download/2cqm7o1ul323wdr/updatecheck_happy_diggers_1.0.2.zip

ill soon and fast add things :D

hope you enjoy and say if they is something that has to be changed.

PS:
I used in fact battletowers source, but deleted it at 99% and changed few things, so, it has been an "inspiration" XD

InsaneJ
1st April 2014, 19:00
Nice!
I'll test it later tonight and let you know how it went. Also I send you a PM with a couple of changes already :)

fredoduquartier
2nd April 2014, 14:39
Hello all, for the first anniversary of Happy Diggers, I will make a custom menu, that has some features to be added.;)
598
feel free to suggest what to add in the free space.:)

Ps, i think im done with the log mod thing, but i may have forgot something.:confused:
i misunderstood everything, but ill still do that, and ill programm birthays of the staff if they send it to me. and the menu thingy still goes on XD

Sverf
2nd April 2014, 14:46
It's ethe's anniversary, not Happydiggers'
Not sure when Happydiggers started, but I'm sure DOM or J can tell you :)

fredoduquartier
2nd April 2014, 14:52
oops.... well, its for ethe then...

fredoduquartier
2nd April 2014, 17:07
look at this, i spent few hours trying to get that up! so nice!;)
600

DOM
2nd April 2014, 17:16
This is coming along quite nicely! I am very happy that you have taken the initiative for this project :)

InsaneJ
2nd April 2014, 17:22
Here is the official HappyDiggers AMP banner. I'll try to get a few menu composites for you later on :)

601

fredoduquartier
2nd April 2014, 17:31
ill try for the official banner, the code is actually not entirely understood in my case, so, for first it will be like this until i understand how to put this logo on the menu, and for the free space i thaught like a link to the forum and something else.:)

fredoduquartier
2nd April 2014, 18:39
i started trying: the window is good, the position is good, the scize is good, but the cut is not! >:( (evil minecraft code, this is)
603

fredoduquartier
2nd April 2014, 18:55
ah, i understood how it works XD, now, youll see:
604

fredoduquartier
2nd April 2014, 19:04
Hehehe, got you, minecraft XD, go and take your messy code with you, and and loosse yourself in it! :cool:
605

fredoduquartier
2nd April 2014, 19:58
hehehe, youll be happy, all of you :D, look at this, and its fully working!606

fredoduquartier
2nd April 2014, 20:23
hehe, got the splash text right;607
minecraft doesnt lie but i do, hahahaha, paradox attack XD

fredoduquartier
2nd April 2014, 20:52
heyo all, im done XD
608

fredoduquartier
2nd April 2014, 22:25
as you may have seen, i didnt post the link, its because i cant get it work on normal minecraft... its not recognised..
it may take a bit of time...:painting:

fredoduquartier
2nd April 2014, 22:45
well, i found a solution: drop the content of this (http://www.mediafire.com/download/scx45caxwh1a0af/1.6.4.zip)in your .minecraft/version/1.6.4.jar
dont, it will mess up your jar, but you may try