Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    Cake! InsaneJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Cakeville
    Posts
    4,493
    Blog Entries
    21

    Update to 1.5 or not? New map or not?

    A new Minecraft 1.5 based version of FTB is scheduled to be released this monday. This pack will NOT include red power 2. Read the details on what the FTB team is planning here: http://forum.feed-the-beast.com/thre...d-1-5-x.18827/

    Basically this will break most of the machines we've build on our current world. Pnumatic pipes, filters, red stone gates / latches, red alloy wire, all that cool stuff will no longer work. Here's a list of items that will no longer work: http://nemesis.evalq.net/RedPower2/recipes.html

    The mods included in this 1.5 pack have been updated and include new features and bug fixes as you'd expect. The question we now face is this: Do we want to update? And if we do, do we want to start on a new map or continue with the (then broken) world?

    Please post your opinions.

  2. #2
    Uranium Miner! demman8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    524
    Blog Entries
    13
    Jeez, there really is a lot it RedPower that I didn't know was redpower! We would have no more Ruby Hoes!

    Honestly, with all the progress I have made, I don't really care...

  3. #3
    Minecraft Addict DOM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    KSC
    Posts
    751
    Blog Entries
    28
    Honestly I would wait for about another week to see if there is an update. The plan is that they might re-release the ultimate pack with Redpower in it

  4. #4
    Cake! InsaneJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Cakeville
    Posts
    4,493
    Blog Entries
    21
    That would worth waiting for. I really wouldn't want to restart the map after about a week of starting a new one. Although I would like to start a new map for 1.5.

    This time I'd like to plan out our base a bit more though. Get a proper factory facility with several buildings that each have a specific function. Maybe make it a small village of factory buildings

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by DOM View Post
    Honestly I would wait for about another week to see if there is an update. The plan is that they might re-release the ultimate pack with Redpower in it
    Would that mean we'd have to stay put on this server for another week, knowing we'll be starting over soon? That would not be very motivating for building or starting anything any more. And if we'd start a new map now, will we start over again when the update for Redpower 2 comes out?

  6. #6
    Uranium Miner! demman8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    524
    Blog Entries
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Mupje View Post
    Would that mean we'd have to stay put on this server for another week, knowing we'll be starting over soon? That would not be very motivating for building or starting anything any more. And if we'd start a new map now, will we start over again when the update for Redpower 2 comes out?
    If we were to start a map without Redpower, I think we would start another once it is released with the 1.5.

    Imagine having to make Energy Crystals without rubies! D:

  7. #7
    Vanilla Server Manager ethe334's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    AMP Server
    Posts
    533
    Blog Entries
    6
    I know, im not part of the FTB server, but I think getting rid of Red Power is quite a big thing, considering its one of the major mods in FTB. Just my opinion:3


  8. #8
    Have you came to a conclusion on what is happening with the server? I have attempted join the server earlier today with no luck... personally, knowing that we are going to restart soon has put me off playing the old map however, Joe and I use a lot of red power items and would miss the mod as a whole.

  9. #9
    We could restart without red power and when its added just go far out and use a nether portal to get there and mine beyond that point for all the new world gen and rubies and sapphire will be enabled in the gregtech mod allowing them to spawn as an ore.

  10. #10
    Or create a stable mystcraft mining age when worldgen changes.

    The current map has another chunkerror and server is not loading due to more then 300k mobs being in one chunck by the looks of the logs. We're trying to fix it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •