Lazy Idle Couch Potato Heptagon_ru's Avatar

Question Abandoned towns and stuff vs. not stealing rule - please elaborate.

I'm new to multiplayer, towny, society and all this stuff. So want to enjoy it, but am afraid to make mistakes and be banned.

So I was told that the Dont Steal rule refers also to the abandoned towns and I guess all unclaimed artifical stuff. I'm confused, please help me to increase my understanding, i tried to formulate some questions below.

I would like to know not only staff's opinions, which are like laws, but opinions from ordinary people, what they consider fine, and what - not.

1. What about various ugly ruins scattered on the surface? Like a wooden rectangle, or a straw-block-ladder to mountain top, etc. Strictly no destroying without asking owner (known by prism)? What if the owner logs in only when I'm out or doesnt come anymore? I could ask mods, but I wouldnt like bothering them with all these minor stuff.

2. What about warm jokes/surprises for people? E.g. making a long journey to a beautiful closed town, seeing it all, and leaving a nice note close to it's borders with a small present. Nothing big, nothing hard to demolish. Forbidden? Yes, it's unclaimed, but I'm like preventing them to expand to this block etc ...

3. What about restoring unclaimed stuff, like lighting a bridge spawn->llamafarm or the Great Railroad Trafalgar-Horseridge? Actually, the railroad is griefed a little in the middle, as I understand - rails stolen. Can't fix that yet. And never seen these town owners online yet Or just dont know them yet by dynamap.

4. Should I, not owner, try to investigate who stole that spawn-llamafarm bridge lighting and report all of them?
    Will it improve server's spirit or it is a waste of time?

5. What if I see an unfinished build, unclaimed, like a road, and want to continue it a bit, or like anonimousely collaborate? Surely I will ask the owner, but if he/she is out all the time?